Navagraha’s in Hindu Astrology



In the vast tapestry of Hindu astrology, the Navagrahas hold a significant place. These nine celestial deities, also known as the nine planets or grahas, play a pivotal role in shaping our destinies and influencing various aspects of our lives. In this blog, we will delve into the intriguing world of the Navagrahas, exploring their names, attributes, and the profound impact they have on our existence.

learn more about Navagraha’s. Get an online astrology consultation by the world-renowned astrologer Mr. Alok Khandelwal.

  • Surya (Sun)
    The Sun, or Surya, is the central luminary of our solar system and is considered the soul of the universe. In Hindu astrology, Surya represents authority, leadership, vitality, and intelligence. It governs the zodiac sign Leo and signifies the self, ego, and overall health. Worshipping Surya can bestow strength, willpower, and clarity of thought.

  • Chandra (Moon)
    The Moon, or Chandra, is a symbol of emotions, instincts, and the mind. It rules over the zodiac sign Cancer and is associated with our innermost feelings and intuition. Chandra’s influence can impact our moods, mental well-being, and receptivity to change. Devotees often seek blessings from Chandra for emotional stability and mental peace.

  • Mangal (Mars)
    Mangal, or Mars, is the fiery planet representing energy, courage, and ambition. This graha governs the zodiac signs Aries and Scorpio, influencing one’s assertiveness, physical strength, and determination. Worshipping Mangal is believed to enhance one’s ability to face challenges and conquer obstacles.

  • Budha (Mercury)
    Budha, or Mercury, is the planet of communication, intellect, and wit. It rules over Gemini and Virgo and plays a vital role in shaping our analytical abilities, articulation, and learning capacity. Devotees seek the blessings of Budha to enhance their communication skills and intellect.

  • Guru (Jupiter)
    Guru, or Jupiter, is the largest planet in our solar system and represents wisdom, knowledge, and expansion. It governs Sagittarius and Pisces and influences our philosophical beliefs, higher education, and spiritual growth. Worshipping Guru is believed to bring good fortune, prosperity, and a broader perspective on life.

  • Shukra (Venus)
    Shukra, or Venus, embodies love, beauty, and sensuality. It rules over Taurus and Libra and influences our romantic relationships, artistic talents, and material pleasures. Devotees turn to Shukra to enhance their attractiveness, artistic abilities, and harmony in relationships.
  • Shani (Saturn)
    Shani, or Saturn, is often considered the stern taskmaster of the Navagrahas. It governs Capricorn and Aquarius and represents discipline, responsibility, and karma. Shani’s influence can bring challenges and life lessons but also offers the potential for personal growth and transformation through perseverance.

  • Rahu (North Node of the Moon)
    Rahu is a shadowy planet associated with ambition, obsession, and desires. It doesn’t rule any specific zodiac sign but holds sway over our karmic path and aspirations. Rahu’s influence can bring unexpected twists in life, making it essential to seek guidance and balance when dealing with its energies.

  • Ketu (South Node of the Moon)
    Ketu, the counterpart of Rahu, represents spirituality, detachment, and liberation. Like Rahu, Ketu doesn’t rule any zodiac sign but influences our past-life karma and spiritual evolution. Devotees turn to Ketu for guidance in shedding material attachments and seeking higher consciousness.

The Navagrahas, with their unique attributes and influences, form a crucial aspect of Hindu astrology. Understanding these celestial deities and their effects on our lives allows us to navigate our destinies with greater awareness. By seeking the blessings and guidance of the Navagrahas through rituals and prayers, individuals can harness cosmic energies to lead more balanced and harmonious lives. In the intricate web of the cosmos, these nine celestial forces remind us of the interconnectedness of our earthly existence with the vast universe beyond.

Navagraha’s in Hindu Astrology
Scroll to top